Saturday, May 10, 2014

The Seven Major Chakras

The Seven Major Chakras 


Studying the individual Chakras begins with the Root Chakra, called Muladhara in Sanskrit. The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone in back, and the pubic bone in front. This center holds the basic needs for survival, security and safety. The Root Chakra is powerfully related to our contact with the Earth Mother, providing us with the ability to be grounded into the Earth plane.  This is also the center of manifestation.

When you are trying to make things happen in the material world, business or material possessions, the energy to succeed will come from the First Chakra.

If this Chakra is blocked an individual may feel fearful, anxious, insecure and frustrated. Problems like obesity, anorexia nervosa, and knee troubles can occur. Root body parts include the hips, legs, lower back and sexual organs. NOTE:  A man's sexual organs are located primarily in his First Chakra, so male sexual energy is usually experienced primarily as physical.  Women’s sexual organs are located primarily in her Second Chakra, so female sexual energy is usually experienced primarily as emotional.  Both Chakras are associated with sexual energy. 

Color for Root Chakra:            Red, Brown and Black
Gemstone for Root Chakra:    Garnet, Smoky Quartz, Obsidian, and Black Tourmaline

The next Chakra or Second Chakra is often referred to as the Belly or (sacral). The Second Chakra, called Swadhisthana in Sanskrit. It is located two inches below the navel and is rooted into the spine. This center holds the basic needs for sexuality, creativity, intuition, and self-worth. This Chakra is also about friendliness, creativity, and emotions. It governs people’s sense of self-worth, their confidence in their own creativity, and their ability to relate to others in an open and friendly way.  It's influenced by how emotions were expressed or repressed in the family during childhood.

Proper balance in this Chakra means the ability to flow with emotions freely and to feel and reach out to others sexually or not.  If this Chakra is blocked a person may feel emotionally explosive, manipulative, obsessed with thoughts of sex or may lack energy.    Physical problems may include, kidney weakness, stiff lower back, constipation, and muscle spasms. Belly body parts include sexual organs (women), kidneys, bladder, and large intestine.

Color for Sacral Chakra:                Orange
Gemstone for Sacral Chakra:    Carnelian Agate, Orange Calcite and Tigers Eye


The Third Chakra is referred to as the Solar Plexus. The Solar Plexus called Manipura in Sanskrit. It is located two inches above the navel in the center behind the stomach. The Third Chakra is the center of personal power, the place of ego, of passions, impulses, anger and strength. It is also the center for astral travel and astral influences, receptivity of spirit guides and for psychic development. When the Third Chakra is out of balance you may lack confidence, be confused, worry about what others think, feel that others are controlling your life, and may be depressed. Physical problems may include digestive difficulties, liver problems, diabetes, nervous exhaustion, and food allergies.

When balanced you may feel cheerful, outgoing, have self-respect, expressive, enjoy taking on new challenges, and have a strong sense of personal power. The body parts for this Chakra include the stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas, and small intestine.

Color for Solar Plexus Chakra:               Yellow
Gemstone for Solar Plexus Chakra:    Citrine, Topaz, and Yellow Calcite 


The fourth Chakra is referred to as the heart Chakra. The Hear Chakra called Anahata in Sanskrit It is located behind the breast bone in front and on the spine between the shoulder blades in back. This is the center for love, compassion and spirituality. This center directs one's ability to love themselves and others, to give and to receive love. This is also the Chakra connecting body and mind with spirit. Almost everyone today has a hard, hurt, or broken heart, and it is no accident that heart disease is the number one killer in America today.  Deep heart hurts can result in aura obstructions called heart scars. When these scars are released, they raise a lot of old pain, but free the heart for healing and new growth.

When this Chakra is out of balance you may feel sorry for yourself, paranoid, indecisive, afraid of letting go, afraid of getting hurt, or unworthy of love.

Physical illnesses include heart attack, high blood pressure, insomnia, and difficulty in breathing.

When this Chakra is balanced you may feel compassionate, friendly, empathetic, desire to nurture others and see the good in everyone.  Body parts for the fourth Chakra include heart, lungs, circulatory system, shoulders, and upper back. The main colors used are pink and green. The Gemstones are Rose Quartz, Kunzite, and Watermelon tourmaline.

Color for Heart Chakra:             Pink and Green
Gemstone for Heart Chakra:    Rose Quartz, Kunzite, Watermelon tourmaline, Aventurine, Green Jade and Emerald.

The fifth Chakra is referred to as the Throat. The Throat Chakra called Vishuddha in Sanskrit It is located in the V of the collarbone at the lower neck and is the center of communication, sound, and expression of creativity via thought, speech, and writing. The possibility for change, transformation and healing are located here. The throat is where anger is stored and finally let go of. When this Chakra is out of balance you may want to hold back, feel timid, be quiet, feel weak, or can't express your thoughts.

Physical illnesses or ailments include, hyperthyroid, skin irritations, ear infections, sore throat, inflammations, and back pain.  When this Chakra is balanced you may feel balanced, centered, musically or artistically inspired, and may be a good speaker. Body parts for the fifth Chakra are throat, neck, teeth, ears, and thyroid gland.

Color for Throat Chakra:                 Light Blue
Gemstone for Throat Chakra:    Aquamarine, Blue Topaz, Lapiz Lazuli and Azurite


The sixth Chakra is referred to as the Third Eye. The Third Eye Chakra called Anjana in Sanskrit. It is located above the physical eyes on the center of the forehead. This is the center for psychic ability, higher intuition, the energies of spirit and light. It also assists in the purification of negative tendencies and in the elimination of selfish attitudes. Through the power of the sixth Chakra, you can receive guidance, channel, and tune into your Higher Self.

When this Chakra is not balanced you may feel non-assertive, afraid of success, or go the opposite way and be egotistical.  Physical symptoms may include headaches, blurred vision, blindness, and eyestrain. When this Chakra is balanced and open you are your own Master with no fear of death, are not attached to material things, and may experience telepathy, astral travel, and past lives. Sixth Chakra body parts include the eyes, face, and brain, lymphatic and endocrine system.

Color for Third Eye Chakra:        Purple, Indigo Blue, Violet, and Dark blue
Gemstone for Third Eye Chakra:    Lapis Lazuli, Azurite, Sodalite, Quartz Crystal, Blue Sapphire, Tourmaline, Amethyst 


The seventh Chakra is referred to as the Crown. The Crown Chakra called Sahasrara in Sanskrit. It is located just behind the top of the skull. It is the center of spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thought and energy. It allows for the inward flow of wisdom, and brings the gift of cosmic consciousness. This is also the center of connectedness with the Goddess (God), the place where life animates the physical body. The silver cord that connects the aura bodies extends from the crown. 

No comments:

Post a Comment